1 minute read


Official Country Name: Territorial Collectivity of Mayotte
Region: Africa
Population: 155,911
Language(s): Mahorian, French
Literacy Rate: NA

Until 1975, Mayotte, also known as Mahoré, was one of the islands of Comoros, an archipelago in the western Indian Ocean between eastern Africa and the island of Madagascar. When Comoros gained its independence from France in the mid-1970s, Mayotte voted to remain a French territory. The island's educational system is based on that of France, and the primary language of instruction is French.

Education is free and compulsory for children between the ages of 6 and 16. Primary education lasts for five years and is followed by another five years of secondary education. Secondary students pursuing general studies attend one of the island's seven colleges, while those in vocational programs attend the one lycée.

Preprimary and primary students totaled 25,805 in 1997; secondary students totaled 6,190 that year. Mayotte offers limited postsecondary training to its residents, and students seeking more advanced skills may go to the nearby island of Réunion. Those pursuing university degrees typically go to France.


"Mayotte." Europa World Yearbook. Pittsburgh: Europa Publications, 1998.

NUPSA. Mayotte. 26 May 2001. Available from http://www.nupsa.org.za/.

—AnnaMarie L. Sheldon

Additional topics

Education - Free Encyclopedia Search EngineGlobal Education Reference